Coke Studio 11 under new producers to feature a mix of fresh as well as veteran musicians

By Bandook - July 23, 2018

Coke Studio 11 under new producers to feature a mix of fresh as well as veteran musicians

Zohaib Kazi and Ali Hamza, producers of Coke Studio Pakistan – Season 11

With Coke Studio announcing its lineup for the eleventh season in Pakistan with the introductory song, Hum Dekhenge, with music set to the words of Faiz Ahmed Faiz. it’s a brave new world.

The latest season will be produced by Ali Hamza and Zohaib Kazi, who take over from Strings. Over 70 artists feature in the Hum Dekhenge video and each brings with them a unique sound. It is a mix of newness and experience, experimentation and tradition that comes through. While a date has not been announced, it is believed that the show will take off in August.

For those who aren’t aware, the season had a prequel of sorts, a series called Coke Studio Explorer (kind of like what India’s MTV Sound Trippin’ was), a five-episode run, which began July 3.

Pakistani pop rock band Strings, known for songs like Duur, Dhaani, Anjane and Chaye Chaye among other hits, were responsible for the production of Coke Studio Pakistan from Seasons 7 to 10.

A month before the tenth season ended, Strings announced that they were quitting the show to concentrate on their music.

CS Pakistan began life in 2008 under former Vital Signs member Rohail Hyatt. Upto five seasons, it was smooth sailing, then came competition from similarly themed shows like Nescafe Basement and Pakistan Idol and during Strings’ tenure, Pepsi Battle Of The Bands returned for a second season after a 15-year gap.

Ali Hamza has been a part of Coke Studio from the time it was created, having found success both with his band Noori as well as his solo career. Zohaib Kazi, too has been around and is also the creator and music producer of Patari Fanoos.

And if you go by ‘Hum Dekhenge’, here’s the lineup: Ariana and Amrina, Shamu Bai, Krewella, Ali Azmat, Natasha Baig, Ahad Raza Mir, Rachel Viccaji, Haniya Aslam, Attaulah Khan Esakehlvi, Sounds of Kolachi, Khumariyan, Young Desi, Lyari Underground, Jimmy Khan, Asim Azhar, Momina Mustehsan, Shuja Haider, Aima Baig, The Sketches, Sahir Ali Bagga, Babar Khanna, Kamran ‘Mannu’ Zafar, Rufus Shahzad, Kami Paul, Omran ‘Momo’ Shafique, Ali Sethi, Riaz Qadri and Ghulam Ali Qadri, Gul Panrra, Hassan Jahangir, Sanwal Esakehlvi, Elizabeth Rai, Bilal Khan, Mishal Khawaja, Mughal-e-Funk, Abida Parveen, Abrar-Ul-Haq, Jawad Ahmad, Fareed Ayaz and Abu Muhammad, Vishnu, Asrar, Humaira Arshad, Naghma, Lucky, Zarsanga, Mehr, Shahab, Wajiha, Chand Tara Orchestra and Shayan Mangal Darehan. There’s quite the diversity in sounds to be found this time around.

Check out ‘Hum Dekhenge’ here:


By using our service, you agree to our Terms (effective 23/07/2017) and Privacy (effective 25/07/2017).
Bandook name & logo and Bandook logo are trademarks of Bandook Inc.